



Abstract

Local Self Government Department - 40th report of the Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee - Payment of compensation to the victims of stray dog menace -Sanctioned - Orders issued.

LOCAL SELF GOVERNMENT (RC) DEPARTMENT

G.O.(Rt)No.425/2024/LSGD Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 22-02-2024

Read 1 Judgment of Hon'ble Supreme Court dated 07.05.2018 & 16.07.2018 in CC

No. 944/17 in WP (C) No. 599/2015

2 Letter dated 13.11.2023 from Secretary, Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee.

ORDER

The Hon'ble Supreme Court appointed Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee to decide on the compensation to be awarded to the victims of stray dog menace in Kerala. The Hon'ble Supreme Court in its Judgment dated 16.07.2018 in CC No. 944/17 in WP (C) No. 599/2015 read as 1st paper above ordered that it would be the obligation of the State to see that the compensation for stray dog victims as recommended by the Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee is strictly complied with and if it is not complied with the competent authorities of the State shall be liable for contempt of the Supreme Court and be adequately punished.

As per letter read as 2nd paper above, the Secretary, Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee has furnished 40 th report which recommended the payment of compensation to the victims with interest @ 9% from the date of claim till payment.

Government have examined the matter in detail and sanction is accorded to the Secretaries of the local bodies concerned to pay the compensation awarded by the Commission to the following claimants in the 40th report of the Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee with interest @ 9% per annum from the date of claim till payment.

Details of claimants in the 40th report of the Justice (Rtd.) Siri Jagan Committee

Sl	Claim No	Name of Claimant	Amount of	Date of	Name of Local
			Compensation	Claim	Body
No			(Rs)		
1	350 of 2020	Smt. Jayamol.M.K	89,304/-	14.09.2020	Erumeli Grama
	000 01 2020	Jimes Buyumoumin	03,001/	1110312020	Panchayat
					- a, a
2	4 of 2017	Smt. Laila Jamal	67,000/-	13.07.2017	Kodur Grama
		XX / . X . 4 . X . 1			Panchayat
		W/o Late Jamal			
3	366 of 2016	Sri. Purushothaman	52,350/-	24.10.2016	Tripangode Grama
					Panchayat
4	388 of 2019	Miss. Fatima Sahla	22,800/-	19.08.2019	Vazhakkad Grama
	565 GI 2 613	Missi Tutimu sumu	22,000/	15.00.2015	Panchayat
		D/o Sri.			, , ,
		Veluthedathu			
		Sulaiman			
5	63 of 2020	Smt. Sreela	20,700/-	03.03.2020	Chalissery Grama
		XX /- X41:11			Panchayat
		W/o Jyothiprakash			
6	66 of 2020	Sri. Mohandas	41,640/-	22.02.2020	Chalissery Grama
					Panchayat
7	97 of 2020	Master Adwaid	22,040/-	20.05.2020	Chalissery Grama
	2. 01 2020		,0.0/		Panchayat
		S/o Subramanian			
8	377 of 2019	Smt. Kumari	55,000/-	02.08.2019	Kanhirappuzha
		W/o Manikumar			Grama Panchayat
		, o mamaama			
9	384 of 2019	Smt. Suseela	58,450/-	09.08.2019	Nenmara Grama
					Panchayat
		W/o Chandran			

10	72 of 2018	Smt. C.K. Narayani	1,10,600/-	12.01.2018	Kuttiattoor Grama Panchayat
11	73 of 2018	Sri. Kokkadan Raghavan	21,800/-	12.01.2018	Kuttiattoor Grama Panchayat
12	198 of 2020	Smt. Ponnarath Leela	49,940/-	18.08.2020	Kuttiattoor Grama Panchayat
13	101 of 2021	Smt. Kanchana M.C W/o Balakrishnan T.C	27,770/-	03.02.2021	Kuttiattoor Grama Panchayat
14	651 of 2018	Sri. P. Ramesan S/o Kunhambu	48,500/-	27.11.2018	Eruvassi Grama Panchayat
15	384 of 2016	Smt. Pankajakshi Amma	39,500/-	31.02.2016	Paravur Municipality
16	95 of 2017	Master Abhimanyu S/o Sri Ranjith	39,100/-	22.02.2017	Chavara Grama Panchayat
17	15 of 2017	Smt. Sindhu & Miss . Athulya D/o Smt. Sindhu	73,200/-	12.01.2017	Chavara Grama Panchayat
18	1 of 2017	Sri. K. Chandrababu	40,950/-	12.08.2017	Krishnapuram Grama Panchayat
19	394 of 2017	Smt. Ammini W/o Raja	33,000/-	05.08.2017	Krishnapuram Grama Panchayat

]		Ī	I
20	395 of 2017	Smt. Jalaja	32,214/-	05.08.2017	Krishnapuram
		XX / D .			Grama Panchayat
		W/o Renjan			
	005 6 0000	25 . 25	1.00.000/	20.00.000	N 1 1 0
21	205 of 2020	Master Muhammad	1,20,860/-	20.08.2020	Nagalasseri Grama
		Shazil Khan.K.V			Panchayat
		S/o Smt. Abida K.V			
22	248 of 2020	Sri. Krishnadas	23,334/-	26.08.2020	Nagalasseri Grama
	2.0 01 2020	Jin Kilomaaa	20,00	20,00,2020	Panchayat
23	509 of 2020	Sri. Balakrishnan	29,550/-	26.10.2020	Nagalasseri Grama
		S/o Damodaran Nair			Panchayat
		(Late)			
		(Late)			
24	510 of 2020	Smt. Mallika	31,867/-	26.10.2020	Nagalasseri Grama
					Panchayat
	605 6000	0 . 7	25 (2 225 /	0.4.40.0000	N 1 1 0
25	635 of 2020	Sri. NaveenKumar	25,69,285/-	04.12.2020	Nagalasseri Grama
					Panchayat
26	98 of 2020	Sri. K. Kannan	36,250/-	21.05.2020	Perigottukurissi
					Grama Panchayat
		S/o Krishnan			
27	131 of 2020	Smt. Panchali	41,500/-	24.06.2020	Perigottukurissi
		W/o Krishnan			Grama Panchayat
28	150 of 2020	Master Mohammed	25,250/-	16.07.2020	Perigottukurissi
		Farhan			Grama Panchayat
		S/o Sri. Siddique			
		K.M			

]
29	151 of 2020	Sri. Saidali S/o Aliyar	28,937/-	16.07.2020	Perigottukurissi Grama Panchayat
30	152 of 2020	Smt. Soumya W/o Ajesh	28,400/-	21.07.2020	Perigottukurissi Grama Panchayat
31	153 of 2020	Kumari Athulya D/o Smt. Jayaprabha	24,837/-	21.07.2020	Perigottukurissi Grama Panchayat
32	154 of 2020	1) Raveendran (died) 2) Smt. Devaki W/o Sri. Raveendran	34,000/-	21.07.2020	Perigottukurissi Grama Panchayat

The compensation to the stray dog victims with interest @ 9% per annum, from the date of claim till payment, shall be disbursed by the Local Self Government Institutions concerned with immediate effect. The Director of Urban Affairs/Director of Panchayats shall ensure the timely disbursement of compensation by Local Self Government Institutions. A detailed compliance report in this regard shall be submitted to Government, by Director of Panchayat / Director of Urban Affairs through Principal Director, LSGD, within 15 days from the date of receipt of this Government Order.

(By order of the Governor)

GEETHA LEKSHMI M B

ADDITIONAL SECRETARY

To:

The Principal Director, LSGD

The Director of Panchayats, Thiruvananthapuram

The Director of Urban Affairs, Thiruvananthapuram

Tne Advocate General, Kerala, Ernakulam (with C/L)

Secretaries of LSGIs concerned (Through the Director of Panchayats

and the Director of Urban Affairs)

The Pricipal Accountant General (A&E), Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

The Accountant General(Audit - I/Audit - II), Kerala,

Thiruvananthapuram

The Director, Kerala State Audit Department, Thiruvananthapuram.

The State Performance Audit Officer, Finance Department.

The Executive Director, Information Kerala Mission,

Thiruvananthapuram.

The Director, Information & Public Relations (Web & New Media)

Department, Thiruvananthapuram.

Stock File / Office Copy (RC1/282/2023-LSGD)

Forwarded /By order

Section Officer