



### **GOVERNMENT OF KERALA**

#### **Abstract**

Local Self Government Department - Order dated 21.03.2023 of Hon'ble High Court in WP(C) 7844 of 2023 (S) - Applicability of Rule 2 of the Solid Waste Management Rules, 2016 to ecologically sensitive areas, tourist spots, pilgrim centres, beaches etc. in the State of Kerala - Orders issued

# LOCAL SELF GOVERNMENT (WM) DEPARTMENT

G.O.(Rt)No.791/2023/LSGD Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 31-03-2023

Read:- Order dated 21.03.2023 of Hon'ble High Court in WP(C) 7844/2023 (S).

#### **ORDER**

The Hon'ble High Court of Kerala in its order dated 21.03.2023 in WP(C) 7844/2023(S) directed to discharge the obligation cast by Rule 2 of the Solid Waste Management Rules, 2016 by issuing a notification on the applicability of the Rules to ecologically sensitive areas, tourist spots, pilgrim centres, beaches etc in the State of Kerala.

- 2. Government have examined the matter in detail and are pleased to notify the following areas under Rule 2 of the SWM Rules, in compliance with the order dated 21.03.2023 of Hon'ble High Court in WP(C) 7844/2023 (S).
- Fort Kochi
- The Jewish Synagogue, Mattancherry
- Thrippunithura Hill Palace
- The Muziris circuit
- The Thiruvananthapuram Museum and Kanakakkunnu Palace
- East Fort in Thiruvananthapuram including Sree Padmanabhaswamy
  Temple

- St: Francis Church, Kochi
- Krishnapuram Palace, Kayamkulam
- Dutch Palace, Anchuthengu
- Sri Vadakkunnathan Temple, Thrissur
- Sakthan Thampuran Palace, Thrissur
- Koyikkal Palace, Thiruvananthapuram
- Thalassery Fort
- Edakkal Caves, Wayanad
- Tipu's Fort, Palakkad
- Bekal Fort, Kasaragod
- Arakkal Kottaram, Kannur
  - Sabarimala pilgrimage site (area under the Travancore Devaswom)
  - Guruvayur (area under the Guruvayur devaswam)
  - Maramon
  - Parassinikadavu Temple.

## Heritage sites identified by Arts and Heritage Commission

Fort Area and Environs ,Kowdiar Conservation Zone, Nedumangadu Heritage Area in Thiruvananthapuram District

Puttungal Devi Temple, Pozhikkara Major Devi Temple, Heritage zone marked in Kollam Corporation Devt: Plan in Kollam District

Alappuzha Municipality Heritage Zone in alppuzha district

Kottayam Municipality Thazhathangaadi & Environs, Vaikom Temple in Kottayam District

Thodupuzha Master Plan area in Idukki district

Kochi Corporation Conservation Zone, Perumbavoor Town Conservation Zone, North Paravur Town Conservation Zone in Ernakulam district

Kalpathy Area and Environs in Palakkad district

Tali Temple and its precincts, Thiruvannur, Kuttichira Area, SM street, Mananchira Area, Fort of Tippu Sultan in Kozhikode district

Pazhassi Tomb in Wayanad District

Arakkal Kettu, Paithruka Mandapam, Inspection Bungalow, Subramanyaswami Temple in Kannur District

#### **Beaches and tourist destinations**

- Shangumugham beach, Thiruvananthapuram
- Kovalam beach, Vizhinjam
- Varkala beach
- Kollam beach
- Cherai beach Ernakulam
- Kappad Beach Kozhikode
- Muzhippilangadu beach
- Alappuzha Beach
- Kozhikode Beach
- Payyambalam Beach
- House Boats at Alappuzha
- Munnar
- Thekkady
- Ponmudi
- Vagamon

- Nelliyampathi
- Attapadi
- Konni Elephant Training Centre
- Athirapally falls
- Pookode lake
- All places under the management of the DTPCs

(By order of the Governor) SARADA MURALEEDHARAN I A S ADDITIONAL CHIEF SECRETARY

To:

The Principal Director, Local Self Government Department.

The Director, Local Self Government (Urban) Department.

The Director, Local Self Government (Rural) Department.

The Chief Engineer, Engineering Wing, Local Self Government Department. Thiruvananthapuram.

The Chief Town Planner, Planning Wing, Local Self Government Department. Thiruvananthapuram.

The Co-ordinator, NavaKeralam Karmapadathi - 2.

The Principal Accountant General (A&E) / (Audit I) / (Audit II), Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Director, Tourism Department.

The Executive Director, Kudumbasree.

The Executive Director, Suchitwa Mission.

The Managing Director, Clean Kerala Company.

The Executive Director, Information Kerala Mission.

The Mission Director, Smart City Mission.

The Mission Director, AMRUT

The Information & Public Relations (Web & New Media) Department. Stock File / Office Copy

Forwarded /By order

Section Officer

Copy to:-

PS to Minister LSGD

PA to Additional Chief Secretary, Environment Department.

PA to ACS, Local Self Government Department.